ZLA Films

Your Best Magazine Articles From Around the World

Mishael Morgan is 1st Black lead winner at Daytime Emmys

Mishael Morgan is 1st Black lead winner at Daytime Emmys

Mishael Morgan of “The Young and the Restless” won as the lead actress and became the first black actor to win the main category at Daytime Emmys on Friday night.

Morgan was previously nominated in the minor category. The 35-year-old resident of Trinidad and Tobago played Amanda Sinclair on CBS soap.

“I’m honored, no matter what color of my skin, any of my waist, for how well I’m doing,” Morgan said. “Now there are little girls around the world looking a step further and knowing that despite their field, despite their profession, whatever, they can try to be the best at what they do. Not only will they achieve this, but they will celebrate. ”

John McCook won Best Actor in a Leading Role for his role as Eric Forrester in CBS’s “The Bold and the Beautiful.” For the 78-year-old, it was the first victory in four nominations.

“I’m so excited to get this Emmy, really every Emmy,” she said.

“General Hospital” won a dramatic honor during the day, the 15th victory of the ABC show in the category. It was on Friday when the fifth trophy was won at the show.

Morgan is on his second stint on “Y&R.” He first joined the soap in 2013 and remained so until 2018. In 2019, he returns as another character.

“I am very proud of our generation. We broke the glass ceilings left, right and half and it was an honor to be a ship and experience this moment,” he said. to prove that we can and will do a thing called equality and unity. ”

The three stars of “General Hospital” won the award and the soap manager won for the third year in a row.

Kelly Thiebaud was selected as a supporting actress for the play Dr. Britt Westbourne and Jeff Kober scored as supporting actors in his role as Cyrus Renault. Nicholas Chavez won as a junior soap artist.

“Gentlemen!” said Chavez. “Just a year ago, I was selling cars in a small coastal town in Florida. I always had the love and support of my family, but none of us thought I could go through this phase.”

Happy Thiebaud received his first nomination.

“I can not believe that. I was very shocked, “he said. “My brother, when I first started playing, watched my work and said, ‘You’re not good.’ So thank you for giving me something to put on his face. ”

Kober is known for his numerous films and major work on films such as “Sons of Anarchy” and “The Walking Dead”.

“Wow, thanks for feeling so welcome that day. What a journey,” he said. “I love what we can make a living, it’s a game.”

NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” won for the author team.

Kelly Clarkson won her third trophy in a row as the host of an entertaining talk show. His show of the same name also won the second consecutive trophy for an entertaining talk show. The singer spent the summer with her children and did not join.

Tamron Hall received his second trophy in a row as an informative talk show host.

Steve Harvey of “Family Feud” won as the host of the game show.

“Danger!” won the game show honor. “‘Danger!’ it’s a factual show, “said executive producer Michael Davies.” Facts about everything in the world are more important than ever. ” Threat! “It’s the last place where everyone agrees on the facts.”

Overnight doyenne Susan Lucci, who played in “All My Children” during the entire 41-year operation of the network, received great applause. She introduced the In Memoriam section, which contains a photograph of her husband Helmet Huber, who died in March. Michael Bolton promoted his hit “How Am I Supposed to Live Without You”.

John Aniston of “Days of Our Lives” was honored with a lifetime achievement award for his 37-year role as Victor Kiriakis. The eighty-eight-year-old actor was not there.

Through a video, she was introduced to her daughter Jennifer Aniston, who said, “Her career is literally a definition of lifelong success.” He noted that he began playing prime time in 1962 and also appeared in outdated soaps such as “Love of Life” and “Searching For Tomorrow” before joining “Days” in 1985.

After two years of pre-filming presentations over the coronavirus pandemic, the day came back to honor a personal ceremony tonight. In 2020, the show was virtual for the first time, and last year viewership was limited.

However, the spirit of COVID-19 was felt. Two nominees from “The Young and the Restless” were forced to bow. Both were nominated for lead actor Jason Thompson, who plays Billy Abbott, and nominated for supporting actress Melissa Ordway, who plays Abby Newman, and both said on social media that they were positive for COVID-19 and missed the show.

Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner of “Entertainment Tonight” co-hosted the 49th Annual Awards Ceremony at the Pasadena Convention Center, where many nominees sat at socially distant cocktail tables and some sat side by side.

Frazier and Turner found out that they received a Daytime Emmy Award when “ET” won for an entertainment series.

Turner opened a program of discussions that the Supreme Court on Friday ignored the constitutional protection of women from abortion. She tells Frazier that she “chose” to wear her blue dress. People were screaming and some women stood up.

Nancy Lee Grahn, nominated for the supporting actress, from “General Hospital” walked the inner red carpet with links to the news of the day. He has a temporary tattoo with the words “reproductive freedom” on his chest, the word “choice” on his earrings and wears a black handbag with the “ban on our body” written in rhinestones.

“I wouldn’t go into this process without talking about the devastation I have because of what happened today and what a dark day for women in this country,” said the 66-year-old actor. “We won’t do it, we won’t do it.”