ZLA Films

Your Best Magazine Articles From Around the World

Results of the Oklahoma primary election in 2022

Oklahoma voters went to the polls on Tuesday to cast their vote in by-elections to the Senate, the House of Representatives, the governor and other lower seats. Voting ends at 8 p.m. ET.

Only registered Republicans can vote in the primary Republican election. Democrats, Democrats and independents can vote in the primary.

If no candidate wins more than 50% of the vote in a contest with three or more candidates, the second round of elections will take place in August. 23.


The importance of the state

Three of Oklahoma’s main offices are on the ballot, including two seats in the Senate.

Senator Jim Inhofe retired later this year when 13 Republicans ran in full primaries to take his place. Meanwhile, Senator James Lankford is seeking re-election in 2022. Jackson Lahmeyer, a strong election activist who ran against Lankford, criticized him for voting to confirm the 2020 election. Lankford remains firmly in the lead.


At the Oklahoma Governorate, Kevin Stitt received Donald Trump’s approval, which could be a big step forward even if he faces millions of dollars in offensive advertisements.

Leading Democrat, public education superintendent Joy Hofmeister has moved her Republican voter register in hopes of defeating Stitt in the general election.